Funding & Implementation

AgroBIG has a total budget of EUR 10.34 million in the second phase. Government of Finland provides EUR 9.4 million, while Government of Ethiopia contributes EUR 0.94 million.

AgroBIG implementers are producer and consumer cooperatives and their unions, input suppliers, traders and other enterprises, farmers and women and youth groups, and government authorities in eight woredas around Lake Tana.

The competent authorities of AgroBIG Programme are the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland (MFA Finland) and Ministry of Finance and Economic Cooperation of Ethiopia (MoFEC).

The lead implementing agency remains the Bureau of Finance and Economic Cooperation of Amhara, Ethiopia (BoFEC).

AgroBIG Supervisory Board (SVB) has the highest decision-making power in the Programme, chaired by BoFEC and MFA representatives. Members include three Amhara regional bureaus (Agriculture, Women, Children and Youth Affairs, and Trade, Industry and Market Development), Cooperative Promotion Agency, Chamber of Commerce and Sector Associations, and Amhara Women Entrepreneurs’ Association. The board meets twice a year.

AgroBIG Regional Technical Committee (RTC) includes representatives from regional bureaus (BoA, BoWCYA, BoTMD, and BoTVED), ARARI, Agricultural Transformation Agency (ATA), Chamber of Commerce, and ACSI. RTC is to provide advisory support to the Programme implementation.

The Programme Support Unit (PSU) consists of Programme Director and three administrative staff employed by BoFEC, and the Technical Assistance (TA) team which includes three international and five national experts, one administrative staff, one support staff and seven drivers. The TA team members are employed by NIRAS company, which is contracted by MFA Finland to provide technical assistance to the programme.